Archive for August 25th, 2008

The next 37signals Live will be tomorrow, August 26th at 11am central time.

The first two Live shows were general Q&As. This time we’re going to narrow down the focus to chapter 13 of Getting Real: Promotion. Generating buzz, getting press, promotion without a budget, launch, etc.

Come armed with questions and we’ll fire back answers. We’ll see you tomorrow at 37signals Live!

Source: Signal vs. Noise
Original Article: http://www.37signals.com/svn/posts/1218-37signals-live-tuesday-august-26-at-1100am-central-time

Designing a better ballot

Written by on Monday, August 25th, 2008 in Uncategorized.

“How Design Can Save Democracy” is AIGA’s attempt to identify common design problems in election ballots and offer improvements.

problem
Problem (excerpt)

solution
Solution (excerpt)

More details.

Is it an improvement? Sure.

But the real crime here is how terrible the original one is. Looks like a bunch of lawyers trying to figure out Quark. It’s tough to have much faith in your government’s ability to solve truly complicated challenges when it seems so inept at dealing with relatively simple issues. Hasn’t this been a known problem for eight years now?!

It’d also be interesting to see what ballots look like in other parts of the world.

Update: Julien links to this can’t miss ballot used in Quebec.

Source: Signal vs. Noise
Original Article: http://www.37signals.com/svn/posts/1215-designing-a-better-ballot

Want a Free Pass to The Ajax Experience?

Written by on Monday, August 25th, 2008 in Uncategorized.

That’s right, a free pass! We are raffling off one free pass to The Ajax Experience show in Boston, September 29 – October 1. That means that you can attend the $1495 event for free, courtesy of Ajaxian.com.

There’s no catch. We are giving away one free pass to The Ajax Experience. The free pass only includes entrance to the event, so if you don’t call Boston home, you still have to cover your own travel and hotel.

How to enter: Click here and enter your information in the form by Friday, September 5th. Please make sure to enter a working email address. Then we will pick one name out of a hat and one of you will receive a free pass.

We look forward to seeing you at The Ajax Experience next month!

Source: Ajaxian » Front Page
Original Article: http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/ajaxian/~3/374283204/want-a-free-pass-to-the-ajax-experience

Razor Profiler: Check out your Ajax code

Written by on Monday, August 25th, 2008 in Uncategorized.

Razor Profiler is a web-based Ajax profiling tool to help web developers understand and analyze the runtime behavior of their JavaScript code in a cross-browser environment. Razor Profiler can be access either online as a service; or be downloaded to run locally, and was created by Coach Wei who has done a lot of work for Nexaweb and Apache.

Razor Profiler Features

Razor Profiler automates JavaScript profiling:

  • Automation: no application code change required. Razor Profiler automatically collects all the necessary data and presents them to web developers for analysis.
  • Runs on any browser: web developers can profile any JavaScript application on any browser. There is nothing to install on the client side.
  • Rich lexical analysis: Razor Profiler presents rich lexcial information about the application, such as file information (number, response status, size, mimetype, percentage, etc), tokens (size, file, percent, count), and functions (size, file, name…), etc;
  • Profile scenario recording: Razor Profile enables web developers to selectively record the scenarios that they are interested in. Only recorded scenarios will be used in analysis.
  • Call stack analysis: for each recorded scenario, Razor Profiler presents all the call stacks in the order of their occurence. For each call stacks, web developers can drill into it to find out the duration of the stack, all the function calls of this stack and the duration of each call.
  • Function analysis: For each JavaScript function in the application, Razor Profile presents the number of times it has been invoked, the duration of each invocation, and the call stacks that invoked this function.
  • Data visualization with graphing and charting: Razor Profiler presents top call stacks, top function calls of each stack, top recorded scenarios, etc. using visual charts and graphs to help web developers better understand the runtime behavior of their application. For example, each call stack is visualized as an intuitive Gantt chart.

How Does Razor Profiler Work?

Razor Profiler composes of a server component that runs inside a standard Java EE Servlet engine, and a JavaScript-based client component that runs inside any browser. Once you have Razor server started, you can profile your JavaScript application by entering the start URL of your application into Razor Profiler and run through your test scenarios. Razor Profiler will automatically record data and visualize them for your analysis. There is no client side installation, browser configuration change or application code change required. In order to achieve this, Razor Profiler goes through five different phases:

  • Application retrieval: Once a web developer enters the application start URL into Razor Profiler, Razor Profiler client component (”the client”) will send this URL to Razor Profiler server component (”the server”). The server performs the actually retrieval of this URL. After additional server processing (such as lexical analysis and code injection, see below), the retrieved content is sent to the client side to be displayed in a new browser window. For the developer point of view, the application is launched and running in this new browser window.
    In this process, Razor Profiler Server is acting like a “proxy server”. But it is not really a “proxy server” and there is no need for developers to re-configure their browser proxy settings.
  • Lexical analysis: Once the server retrieves the application URL, it performs lexical analysis of the returned content by identifying and analyzing JavaScript files, functions, and tokens,etc. The result is sent to the client for display.
  • Code injection: Upon lexical analysis of JavaScript code, the server injects “probe” code into the application’s JavaScript sources before returning them to the client. These injected “probes” enable automatic collection of application runtime data, and saves developers from doing so manually.
  • Runtime data capture: Once the application’s JavaScript code is running on the client side and as developers run through desired profile scenarios, the injected “probes” automcally collect all the necessary data to Razor Profiler Client.
  • Data analysis: When the developer finishes recording scenarios and starts data analysis, Razor Profiler client performs analysis of all the collected data and presents the results.

Source: Ajaxian » Front Page
Original Article: http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/ajaxian/~3/374291573/razor-profiler-check-out-your-ajax-code

Putting together GWT and Spring

Written by on Monday, August 25th, 2008 in Uncategorized.

Dave Kuhn has put together a comprehensive guide to piecing together GWT and Spring, a nice recipe for the Java heads among you.

Dave starts out by detailing why you would want to do this, and how it changes the architecture of your application.

He then gets to a tutorial that has you creating the project correctly, and configuring an actual service. Once you are done with the code, you need to setup hosted mode to point to a nice external tom cat via:

-out www GwtWisdom/GwtWisdom.html
-noserver
-port 8080

Source: Ajaxian » Front Page
Original Article: http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/ajaxian/~3/374240210/putting-together-gwt-and-spring

Jacob Seidelin finishes up his binary meme with a post on reading image metadata with JavaScript via a library that groks EXIF data.

It tries to detect the format of the image file and then reads the header and pulls out information about dimensions and color depth among other things. If the EXIF data library is included, it will also gather any EXIF tags from JPEG files.

JAVASCRIPT:

  1.  
  2.  
  3.  
  4. // URL of the image (must be on the same domain!)
  5. var file = “prettypicture.jpg”;
  6.  
  7. // define your own callback function
  8. function mycallback() {
  9.    // either call the ImageInfo.getAllFields([file]) function which returns an object holding all the info
  10.    alert(
  11.        “All info about this file: “ + ImageInfo.getAllFields(file).toSource()
  12.    );
  13.  
  14.    // or call ImageInfo.getField([file], [field]) to get a specific field
  15.    alert(
  16.        “Format: “ + ImageInfo.getField(file, “format”) + “, dimensions : “ + ImageInfo.getField(file, “width”) + “x” + ImageInfo.getField(file, “height”)
  17.    );
  18. }
  19.  
  20. // finally, load the data
  21. ImageInfo.loadInfo(file, mycallback);
  22.  

ImageInfo, this library, was inspired by the App Engine app IMG2JSON.

Source: Ajaxian » Front Page
Original Article: http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/ajaxian/~3/374206788/imageinfo-reading-image-metadata-exif-with-javascript

Trulia Goes Mobile, Adds Feeds

Written by on Monday, August 25th, 2008 in Uncategorized.

If there is any type of site that screams for a mobile edition, it is real-estate. Why print out all of those search results when you can have them on your mobile phone or in your Dash GPS car navigation device? Today, real-estate search site Trulia rolled out mobile versions of the iPhone and the Dash. (There are also new mobile versions for the Blackberry, Sony Ericsson, Nokia, and other phones).

The iPhone app is decent, although limited in the same way that Trulia proper is (more photos, please). And it doesn’t let you click through to the original broker’s site (where you can usually find more photos). I’m more excited about the Dash version. Although it is even more limited in its features (no pictures), it is more practical. When you are on a house hunt, typing in all of those addresses can slow you down. Being able to search on the Dash for nearby homes for sale cuts out a few steps, and automatically routes you to unfamiliar neighborhoods. (Now, how about letting me put in multiple destinations in one search?)

Another useful feature Trulia added today to its regular homepage is feeds. This is generated automatically based on your recent activity, and keeps you up to date on new listings and average price changes. It acts like a prospective search every time you come back to Trulia. Now, why isn’t this built into the iPhone app?

(Although competitor Zillow does not have an iPhone app yet (such a shame), you can try out iZillow, a bare-bones Zestimate finder for any given address which has been customized for the iPhone browser.)

Crunch Network: CrunchBoard because it’s time for you to find a new Job2.0

Source: TechCrunch
Original Article: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Techcrunch/~3/FMPWzmDtPHo/

Facebook is a famously difficult place to make money. Despite the popularity of the social network, most ads go for pennies per thousand impressions (CPMs). Even Social Media, a Facebook ad network that is able to get effective CPMs of about 50 cents, has only paid out a little more than $8 million total to application developers since it launched a year ago. Yet AllFacebook claims:

There’s a pretty well known secret among top Facebook application developers: one developer is generating over $1 million a month. Who is that developer exactly? Well, most people won’t talk about it and after some prodding around we’ve narrowed down the suspects. We aren’t going to post them though because ultimately it doesn’t matter who the individual is.

Excuse me? Actually, it does matter who this mystery million-dollar-a-month Facebook developer is. Facebook apps that make real money are few and far between. It is important for anyone creating such apps to know which models work and which ones don’t. Nick O’Neil at AllFacebook should understand why his readers would want that information, even if his sources would rather that he keep it to himself. It is also important to know who it is in order to try to test the claim.

As it so happens, I’ve heard this million-dollar-a-month claim before. It came from Anu Shukla, the CEO of Offerpal Media, a lead generation network for Facebook apps that gives users a way to earn virtual currency by looking at an ad and completing an action (such as filling out a registration form). O’Neil also points to Offerpal in his post, noting that it can generate average CPMs of $75, with some as high as $200,

When I interviewed Shukla earlier this summer, she told me that about 200 apps on Facebook and elsewhere are tying their virtual currency to Offerpal and that “there are publishers earning up to $1 million a month with a single app.” She also said that 80 percent of the top 25 apps on Facebook are using Offerpal.

Friends For Sale! is one of them. This app lets you “buy and sell your friends as pets” and includes a virtual gift shop as well. It boasts 4.5 million monthly active users, making it one of the biggest apps on Facebook.

Could it be the million-dollar app? I don’t know for sure (Shukla wouldn’t say—if you have a better guess tell me why in comments). But let’s run some numbers and see if it makes sense. While Offerpal’s CPMs are high, Shukla said that only a small fraction of any given app’s users—typically only 5 to 10 percent of active users—will look at Offerpal’s CPA ads.

So let’s be generous here and assume that 10 percent of the people who play with Friends for Sale engage with an Offerpal ad (450,000). Let’s give it a $100 CPM and multiply that by a generous ten pageviews per month per user. That would be 450,000 X $100/1,000 X 10 = $450,000. You’d have to really stretch that to get to $1 million a month. But a $200 CPM or more than 20 pageviews per month would get you close. So would expanding Offerpal’s reach to a larger percentage of the app’s active users (after all, the whole point of the app is to buy and sell “pet” friends and virtual gifts).

That’s within the realm of possibility. Just barely. I guess some people will do anything for money, even if it’s not real.

Of the 200 social networking apps that tap into the Offerpal network, Shukla told me the median app was collecting $150,000 a month in revenues. That suggests that Offerpal is paying out more per month to developers than the $8 million Social Media has paid out over the past year.

It also suggests that creating a virtual economy inside Facebook could be more lucrative than plastering it with generic ads.

Crunch Network: MobileCrunch Mobile Gadgets and Applications, Delivered Daily.

Source: TechCrunch
Original Article: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Techcrunch/~3/t8KIcsSYD8Q/

Yahoo’s 404 At Giants Stadium

Written by on Monday, August 25th, 2008 in Uncategorized.

Like a lot of other companies in Silicon Valley, TimeBridge has hired their fair share of ex-Yahoo employees. CEO Yori Nelken said most of their ex-Yahoo engineers got a chuckle when they noticed the large Yahoo advertisement on the stadium wall next to the 404 marker (for 404 feet from home plate) during a recent company outing to a baseball game.

404 errors occur when a web page cannot be located on a server. Given Yahoo’s 2008 travails, it’s not hard to see the humor in this accidentally created message. This isn’t the first time the ad has been noticed, and I for one am glad to see Yahoo stubbornly refuse to move the ad.

Crunch Network: CrunchBoard because it’s time for you to find a new Job2.0

Source: TechCrunch
Original Article: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Techcrunch/~3/ZWbNRSEI0OY/

Sizzle: John Resig has a new selector engine

Written by on Monday, August 25th, 2008 in Uncategorized.

John Resig is working on a new selector engine called Sizzle:

This is a new selector engine that I’m working on.

It’s a work in progress! Not ready for use yet!

It’s definitely not ready yet (got some minor outlier bugs in the standards-compliant browsers - and a bunch of major bugs in IE still left to tackle) but the results are already promising.

4x faster in Firefox 3, 3x faster in Opera 9, 1.5x faster in Safari 3 than the other major JavaScript libraries. It’s completely standalone (no library dependencies) and clocks in at under 4kb.

I’m just committing my code before moving on to work on IE - so beware. And yes, I expect this engine to become the new default selector engine in jQuery.

Just 594 lines of code so far, check it out.

Source: Ajaxian » Front Page
Original Article: http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/ajaxian/~3/373996684/sizzle-john-resig-has-a-new-selector-engine



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